What I Read This Week (iii)

tumblr_nzkk5bi3Lc1tbnreho7_1280.jpg
A man dressed as Santa Claus outfit hands souvenir, in the Shiite holy city of Najaf, Iraq, 2015.

I haven’t read much in the past couple of weeks because the December melancholy has got me. I was also busy playing Papa Pastaria, loooool.

Anyways. I started to save up articles in a furor; to impress anyone who reads this blog and it put a pressure on me. I realized that forcing myself to read without any curiosity is an utterly stupid thing I am doing to myself and etc etc.

Without further ado;

The Invisible Work That Women Do Around the World by Gillian B. White

In total, the UN finds, women do three out of every four hours of unpaid labor, while men do two-thirds of work that is paid. And, by and large, women are more likely to be employed in more vulnerable and tenuous occupations than men, working informal jobs where they can be taken advantage of or dismissed without legal protections.

 Get rich or die vlogging: The sad economics of internet fame by Gaby Dunn, an utterly depressing and honest article on how Youtube famous celebs barely make it to pay off their rents. The stark contrast between virtual and real life.

Sadia Khatri and reclaiming space. I love this girl so much!

An utterly beautiful Queer Pakistani blog through which one can reflect upon so much and have one’s heart torn too. (is my sentence grammatically correct? i think not)

The APS Peshawar Enterprise by one of my favourite bloggers.

Badiou, In Praise of Love, pg 40-44. I’m still pondering over it.

To Fall in Love With Anyone, Do This by Mandy Len Carton. I read this a long time back but i still think about it from time to time. I am really scared to try those 30 questions though!

Lottery Tickets; Grieving for a Husband by Elizabeth Alexander is another article that stays in my heart.

Also i read Water by Bapsi Sidhwa and re-read The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty. The Exorcist is a work of art and leaves me scared every time i read it. One should definitely give it a try this winter break!

Above picture source [x]
One thought on “What I Read This Week (iii)

Leave a Reply

