Ramazan Masterpost 2k17

4765991651c7b8dbfa7d390b953d7c71.jpg

Ramazan Mubarak to y’all!

While it is a special month each time around, this year it has some other distinguishing features for me. You see, since the past seven years or so, I’d be desperate for Ramazan because I wanted to make close-to-the-heart prayers as it’s believed that God listens to us most during this month. There were times when I looked forward to it only because I was battling with depression and I wanted to be healed spiritually. I felt like that was the only way to get some mental peace. My past few Ramazans have also revolved around the CIE results, praying continuously for them, giving little thought to anything else.

But this year it is different because I feel as if I’m mentally more stable, the depression episodes are quite less now, I’m in a much healthier company and I’m more motivated than ever before to handle Ramazan and general life. Alhumdulillah.

6fcbc01f4763dabcfd71d3eeacb98fdb.jpg

So here are a few goals I’ve set for myself in order to be a better person in the following 30 days. (I have taken inspiration from other people’s Ramazan to-do list and I’ll be linking them below)

  1. Focus less on feeding your physical self and more on nourishing your spiritual self.
  2. Be regular in salah, durud, istighfar, nawafil, tilawah, lowering the gaze, being kind to family and friends.
  3. Learn as much tafsir of the Quran as possible, especially Surah Nur, Yusuf, Nisa, and the 30th juz.
  4. Make a schedule of worship that can be continued even after Ramadan.
  5. Clear out distractions from your heart and your mind.
  6. Pray Tahajjud every single night of ramadan. Every. single. night.
  7. Pray together with my family more often when possible in the home.
  8. Don’t ask mum to spend Ramadan in the Kitchen. Eat something light and quick. Let her also make Du’a and utilize the month of forgiveness.
  9. Get a journal to write down all my goals, dua and things I will avoid.
  10. Form a support group with friends or family to remind and encourage one another.
  11. Forgive and clear your heart from grudges. It is so therapeutic to let go of the hurt and move on. This will free your heart of rancor and animosity. (This will be literally the hardest thing for me so I hope to practice forgiveness more often in this month.)
  12. Pray 2 rakats tauba for any shortcomings you had throughout the year to start with a clean slate.
  13. Try to donate food items as much as possible.

Links. [x] [x] [x] [x]

e64b6c1bd35162ab909285df178731c2.jpg

Reflections from the Quran (basically from each Juz) [x] (I read these after every Juz back in 2015 but they are only till 16 or 17 chapters)

The Quran apps I have been using for the past 4 years or so are

  1. iQuranLite. (Android/iPhone)
    I absolutely adore this app. It has English translation below each verse. If I don’t know how to pronounce something, I simply download the recitation of that Surah from the app so that I can listen and learn from it. I don’t use it for reading the whole Quran though, only bits and pieces.
  2. Quran for Android
    Haven’t used it much since switching to iPhone but it is still in my mum’s phone so I’ll be using from there. I love, love the font in this app.

I’m planning to join SeekersHub again because pretty sure they’ll have some lectures with the theme of Ramazan to download that I can listen to while driving to and fro from Uni.

Also I honestly plan to have a more effective study routine as well since majority of my GIT module has gone to trash as I was too lazy or too busy. Yes, there’s no in between in my life.

For some lighthearted stuff, I’m going to re-watch ALL SidnDina’s Ramazan V’logs. I find them extremely calming.

What are you planning to do this Ramazan? Is there any to-do list from which we can all benefit? Then please do share!

Pictures taken from [x] [x] [x]
Leave a Reply

